I’m glad I did what I didn’t wanna do

Have you ever made plans to do something and then really really really really really didn’t want to do that thing?

That was me today. I called my Grandma Rose last week and told her I would take her to the dollar store today. It is her favorite thing to do and one of the only chances she ever gets to shop. At 82 years old the ol’ bitty doesn’t get around as well as she used to.

She raised me. She didn’t do it on her own, of course, but she had a hand in raising me. My parents were great, no doubt about it, but they worked a lot. After school I was with Grandma, most days she was the one who took me as well. I stayed with her a lot and after my parents divorced when I was 9 I lived with her for several years. Needless to say if the old woman wants to go to the dollar store, I owe it to her to take her.

But I did not want to.

At all.

Not today.

I had a bazillion things to do. I have two hats that I need to finish crocheting this week. I have a bathroom that needs lots of attention, a kitchen that could use some scrubbing and Fuzzy had a nosebleed on my white down comforter last night.

Walking behind a slow moving elderly shopper did not sound like a thrilling time when I woke up today. It sounded like torture.

But I went….I navigator her through the ice, followed her through the store and then treated her to lunch. I’m so glad that I took her to lunch.

We stopped at Steak n’ Shake which was a place I’d joined my grandma and grandma to many many Friday nights as a little kid. This time was just a little different.

She cracked jokes, she made fun of EVERYONE, she actually tried to get me to go up to a man in his 30’s and explain to him that he was too old to wear jogging pants in public. She suggested that another man go to the Salvation Army and buy some new clothes because they had to have something nicer than what he chose today. She cracked me up.

I have always known that her first job was at Steak n’ Shake when she was 15 back in 1942, but I did not know many of the details regarding her employment. Rose told me that she was hired to fry the steak burgers, but she was awful at it so they made her a waitress. She admits she wasn’t all that great at being a waitress either.

While waiting tables at the burger joint she met a man named Ellis. Ellis was a looker. He invited her to go to a bar and go dancing after work. They went dancing three times and enjoyed themselves. HOWEVER, Ellis had a brother named John who was a charmer. Apparently, in 1942 being a charmer was better for you than being a looker….because it was John’s charm that won over Rose. They later married, had seven children and a million grandchildren. One of those grandchildren was me, who they took to Steak n’ Shake many many Friday nights.

MORAL OF MY TALE:

Next time I come up with a ton of reasons to not do something I need to spend a moment reliving today. I did not want to take her to the store, but I had one of the very best Thursdays that anyone could ask for. My hats are not finished, my bathroom is yucky, my kitchen counters are sticky and my comforter needs soaking, but golly gee whiz I have a huge smile on my face and a memory that I will always cherish.

 

Here’s Grandma Rose.

 Do me a favor and forgive 2 things about this picture

 #1-that it is a carppy cell photo picture, I snuck it while she was mid story

#2-her hair, she’d pop me on the back side if she thought anyone saw her hair not fluffed right.

 

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m glad I did what I didn’t wanna do

  1. Kim Noyes says:

    Your grandma is so cute!! She looks like she would be a lot of fun! Jason’s grandma used to work at Steak N Shake for years… I wonder if they worked together? Always a possibility, I suppose! 🙂

Leave a Reply

