Valentine’s Day Par-tay

What romantical things went on in our little world for V-day?  Oh, you know…the typical.  I went over the weekend and bought myself some Clinique face products I’d been needing and my beloved purchased himself some beautiful looking chocolate covered strawberries.  I’m allergic to (and LOVE) strawberries.  We’re romantics like that.

The best part of my day was the party at Fuzz’s school.  They are serious about their holiday parties at this joint.  I had no idea what I was getting into when I signed up as a room parent.  It’s fun, however…gives me a reason to go heart crazy.

First thing I did was whip up a shirt for him to wear.  His godmother and I hunted and hunted for a boy approved V-day shirt and came up empty handed.  I used what I had around and made something for him to wear. 

studly Fuzz approved V-day shirt

I was not in charge of snacks, but the moms who did them did a great job.  They went the healthy route with crackers, cheese, strawberries and grapes.  The kids loved them.

I brought some Valentine’s Day games that I had and we also played freeze tag and Twister. 

For the craft I searched for something that wouldn’t be messy, involve paint or glue and be able to be completed in just a few minutes.  I chose these little kits that made a pin with the American Sign Language sign for “I love you”  I did some of the gluing beforehand and included a strip of glue dots for them to complete.  Went well, they liked learning the sign and I think there is something very rewarding for a kid to start and finish something in less than 8 minutes.  There is also something rewarding when you get a picture that is in focus and not blurry.  Unfortunately I wasn’t able to do that yesterday!!

I was also very excited to find little suckers with the ASL “I love you” sign to include in his goody bags for classmates

The two third grade classes joined together for a total of 28 very polite, thankful kids.  They took turns, cheered each other on and said thank you a bazillion times.  When I question why I send him to Catholic school I will remind myself of these things.

Of course there was a little something waiting on my little Valentine when he came home from school.  I got him a Smithsonian crystal growing kit.  I recommend the Smithsonian science kits to anyone with kids.  They have really entertained Fuzzy.

and finally, here are some of the Valentine’s decorations from around our house.  Hope your day was as fun and sweet as ours was.

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

