Celebration of Life

   The world lost Ethel last Tuesday.

She was my grandma.  She was witty.  She was loving.  She gave good hugs.  She loved cool whip.  She had a smile that would melt a heart.  She was almost 89 years old.  Back in the day she had a perfectly manicured lawn, most recently she had dementia.

Long before that horrid disease jumbled her memory and brain she became my grandma.  I was a young’n when my dad married her daughter.  Without hesitation she kissed me, hugged me, loved me and became my grandma.  She signed birthday cards “your built in grandma”… later on she just signed them “grandma” because she was, simply, my grandma.

Her house was amazing, spotless, and a practical time capsule to the 1970’s.  She had the thickest, richest shag carpet that money could buy…althought it was 30 years old it appeared to have been just laid.  Ethel grew up without much and took care of everything she acquired.  If only people did that today.  Everything is so disposable.  Through example Ethel taught me how to preserve items, how to give value to things.

Ethel was funny.  It’s true that everyone thinks they have a sense of humor, but Ethel really did…sometimes she didn’t intend to be hysterical, but she never hesitated to laugh at herself.  Oh the stories that were told.  She once made the mistake of making a pumpkin pie without glasses on.  Instead of scooping from the ‘SUGAR’ canister she scooped from the ‘RICE’ canister.  Needless to say everyone had a belly laugh from that crunchy, inedible dessert, Ethel included.

She ate pies, cookies, cakes and other deserts as an excuse to consume cool whip.  Let’s be honest, we all have a food like that.  For some it’s ketchup (bluck!) or ranch dressing or chocolate….for Ethel it was good old-fashioned cool whip!  Often times she would scoop three, four, five or ten more spoonfuls onto her sweet as she went along!

She will be missed.  She will remain loved.

So Ethel, I’m not sure if you knew what a blog was, or if you’re able to read this..but I know you’re in my heart and in heaven.  While you’re up there make sure you give God’s living room shag a good raking….take his riding lawn mower out for a spin, pick up a new shiny sports car, pick out a cute sweatshirt *because I know your heaven has plenty of ’em*, surround yourself with monkeys, plant a big wet one on Kenny’s lips, hug Marilyn, look over Vanessa, Karen, and Helen ..no one loved you like them…..make everyone laugh, but don’t make them a pumpkin pie!

Ethel & Fuzzy 2006

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celebration of Life

  1. Missy Dean says:

    Oh, Megan so well blogged!! I love everything about it and grandma!! Thanks for the memories!!

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about your Grandma, Megan!! It sounds like the world lost a wonderful person!! Then again, if she had a hand in raising you, there is not a doubt in my mind that the world most certainly lost a wonderful person! You, your family and your grandma as she “adjusts into Heaven” will remain in my prayers! (I would not be surprised in the least if she has read this!)

Leave a Reply

