Friday Fuzzy Lessons

Anyone who has raised a man, dated a man, is a man, etc…knows that it being a good man doesn’t just happen.  It takes hard work and dedication, laughter and tears, blood and sweat…and a few lessons.

So I dedicate Fridays on my blog to share with you some of the lessons I have attempted to teach Fuzzy.  Not all of them have stuck.  Heck, sometimes I’m the one that’s learning something.

Our lesson this week:

YOU CAN GET MAD, BUT YOU CAN’T ACT MAD

wowzers, I have an angry child at times.  He has temper issues.  Certainly not as bad as some parents have, but much worse than I am able to accept.  Fuzzy gets bent out of shape when things don’t go his way.  That isn’t OK in my house, or in the world.  You have to learn to go with the flow, bend with the breeze.  I have been trying to teach Fuzzy to take a deep breath and walk away.

He gets so angry at the smallest bump in the road that his face turns red, he storms from a room, and can not be talked to by anyone.  At that moment there is no discussing anything with the boy, he’s MAD.  Over the weekend his angry showed its ugly face and I was at my wits end.  After his apology to me I sat with him and told him that everyone feels mad, but it’s what you do with that madness that makes the difference.  I gave him some ideas on how to take a deep breath and count to ten.  I taught him to question whether this MAJOR ISSUE would matter next week.  I tried to get him to understand that not everything is a big deal, somethings are out of our control.  We hugged  and we laughed and we moved on.

Our talk included some coping tips.  If he was at school he needed to politely walk away from another student who was getting on his nerves.  If it was a teacher he needed to breath and repeat to himself that he needed to calm down and see their side, to not take everything personal.  When it came to other adults that were pulling his chain he needed to decide if they were joking … and go from there.

That’s when I told him that he could get mad, but he couldn’t act mad. 
(I also made him write that sentence 25 times)

Something seemed to click in his brain and this week has been a bit better.

So next time you’re seeing mad…do what Fuzzy does.  Repeat to yourself that it’s OK to get mad, but not OK to act that way.

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Fuzzy Lessons

  1. Thank you!! Evan has the same problem!! he might be a little young to comprehend the exact meaning of this, but it’s never too early to start teaching him it!! The sooner I start, the sooner he might get it!

Leave a Reply

