Cook This, Not That

I usually make dinner, we don’t eat out a lot.  More than some, less than others, but not weekly.

So dinner ideas come and go.  It’s a lot more fun to cook when my main squeeze is working from home and there are three people to feed.  Fuzzy isn’t terribly picky, but I’m usually not terribly motivated.  I’m fortunate that he will usually eat anything I throw on his plate…with the exception being visable zucchinni.

Soo….when I saw the commercials for Philadelphia Cooking Cream I was intrigued.  I purchased some and was in love.  The next grocery trip I purchased more.

yum.

This is what it looks like:

The directions on the package say something along the lines of add to cooked chicken with some veggies and possibly serve over noodles or rice.  The first time I purchased this stuff I bought the Italian Herb…and I followed the directions.  It was delicious and simple.

The second time I bought the Santa Fe and did my own thing…it turned out even better and it looked like this:

I added a chicken breast, leftover black beans, some frozen, cooked broccoli, leftover whole wheat egg noodles, wheat germ, a can of petite diced tomatoes, spinach and shredded carrots.

Fuzzy ate every bite and asked for more.

I was feeling pretty mom-tastic after that meal.

The next day was Mardi Gras and I woke up a wee bit earlier than usual so I could whip up some Mardi Gras pancakes.  We like oatmeal pancakes in this house so I got the bright idea to make them green, purple and yellow to celebrate.  The idea was wonderful in my head, but it wasn’t executed wonderfully.

For starters I forgot my Kindergarten art class lessons and ruined the colors.  I started with one bowl of pancake batter and added a ton of yellow food coloring, then took two bowls out of that and made green to one by adding blue.  That turned out…um…sorta ok.  The other one I added blue and red to make purple.  Unfortunately the yellow was already there and blue, red, and too much yellow make … yuck.  I blame the early alarm.  One shouldn’t be forced to mix colors before coffee.  I also burned them.  I felt less mom-tastic….and not very jolly about Mardi Gras that day.

Fuzzy had a PopTart for breakfast that morning. 

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cook This, Not That

  1. Mrs. Ryan says:

    Mmmmmmm – sounds good! Will have to go get me some.

Leave a Reply

