reality TV got me again

Well… I did it.  I knew I would.  I got highly influenced by TLC’S Extreme Couponing and I bit the bullet.  I downloaded, I searched, I clipped, I organized, I made lists and I couponed.  AND…  I’m not ashamed.

I also made my cousin go with me because I’m brave like that!

We went to Target.  I love Target. 

I spent a big chunk of my Monday researching different coupon websites.  I printed off lots of deals, but what shocked me most was finding so many deals right on the Target website.  The coupons I found were store coupons good only at Target, but they were for many things I already had on my shopping list.

I was picky when we got to Target.  I checked prices.  I didn’t use some of the coupons I had bought because even with the discount, the item as no cheaper than at the store I usually go to.  I brought manufacture coupons with me also.  I had seen on TLC that you were able to combine the manufacture and store coupons on one item to save even more.  I didn’t know if this would work, but I figured it was worth a shot.  We also found coupons hanging on two of the items we had planned to purchase. 

The Dasani water I had planned to purchase for an upcoming trip (I don’t buy bottled water unless we are gonna be in the car and away from our faucet for a long period of time) was on sale and had a hanging tag on it that stated if you buy two you get one free.  I had a coupon that was good for $1 if I bought two.  I used all of those together and got $10.47 worth of water for $1.48.  I was shocked at how the math worked out in my favor.

Overall I saved $19.36 at Target.  This was a lot more than I had planned on saving when I walked into the store and it was much more than I had calculated as the items were being scanned.  I had to sit down with my receipt and a calculator afterwards to make sense of it all.

I do not know how the people on the show save 90% or more on the grocery bills and I never plan on aiming that high.  I’m happy to have the time that I do have to find and clip the few coupons I did, but I never want to have bottles of ketchup lined up under my bed. 

What I do find disappointing about coupons is that you don’t find them for apples or carrots.  My shopping list includes these things..along with milk, eggs, fresh bread, etc.  I will watch where those are on sale and shop accordingly as I have done for years. 

There are lots of icky coupon sites out there.  I even found one that charged per coupon.  Why would I (or anyone else) wanna pay twelve cents to save fifty-five.  That makes no sense.

My plan of action with this crazy couponing is to not let it make me crazy.  I never want to spend extra to save a little.  If the deal is great enough and the quantity is available I intend to donate the extras that my little family won’t use.

What about you, are you a couponer?  What advice do you have?  What sites do you use?  How do you keep the coupons organized?

I have used coupons for years.  I never purchase anything from Michael’s or Hobby Lobby unless it’s on sale or I have my trusty 40% off coupon.  I’ve clipped them from the newspaper as well, but only for things I would typically buy.  I’m not going to race out to buy something we would never use simply because I can save $.55 if I buy three of them.  Yuck, that doesn’t sound like a good deal to me.

the fat cat and pretty daffodil have nothing to do with coupons, but they make me just as happy as the $$ saved.

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

