Unexpectandtly Good

Fuzz and I have a habit of listening to a book on CD during road trips.  A few times a year we take a 12 hour trip between Central Illinois and the Mississippi/Alabama gulf coast.

That’s a loooonnnggg time in the car.  A portable DVD player only entertains the wee one in the back, most songs on my MP3 player only entertain moi.  We’ve tried other things through the years, but nothing makes the time go as quickly as a book on CD.

HOWEVER, I’m cheap.  Super cheap when it comes to some things.  I dread spending $30 or more on something I will only use once.  Cracker Barrel helped.  You can purchase books there, listen to them, return them and get all but a little bit of your money back.  Best part is, you have a week to do it!  Woo-hoo!!

The bad part is their book selection isn’t always that great.  A lot of Danielle Steele, and other romance novels I’m certain my eight year old boy wouldn’t appreciate.  It’s hit and miss most times.  There was even once that I stopped at an exit, purchased a book, listened, pulled into the next Cracker Barrel and returned it 🙂

BUT…not this trip.

This trip was different.  We got this book:

Between, Georgia by Joshilyn Jackson

It was beautifully written.  I randomly grabbed this book based on ::gasp:: the cover

(i know, i know) but I’m so glad that I did!  Somehow I accidentally grabbed a book about an ASL interpreter with a deaf/blind mom and a lot of drama in her life. 
It kept both Fuzz and I entertained for 12 hours, we even played it in the car when we cleaned it out so we could hear more and more.  That rarely happens.

If’n you can, If’n you’d like, If’n you could…you SHOULD get this book ..whether in paper or CD form.  It’s worth it.

It’s delicious.

There is a yellow sticker on the bottom that warns of inappropriate content..and it’s true.  I find that most books have some sort of something I’d rather not have Fuzzy hear.  I fast-forward through the juicy parts and never miss a major plot line.  You can too…no biggie!

What have you been reading/listening to  ??

I’d love a good line on for the next big trip.  We will be putting lots more miles on the poor Toyota this summer .

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

