84

My Gramma Rose helped raise me.

Gramma & Me Christmas 2005

A lot of people had a hand in my raisin’, really.  Both of my parents worked a lot. 

Gramma was always there.

I stayed at her house tons during the week because her house was very close to my catholic grade school.

She drove me to school, picked me up from school and took me for Hardee’s hot dogs to celebrate small accomplishments.

When I was a wee teeny me she played SkipBO, shared secrets, watched cartoons and spent hours pretending to work at the Post Office with me.  We picked green tomatoes together.  My shins fought her roses bushes and many times lost.

My uncle, Gramma, & Fuzzy 2006

I love how comfortable Fuzzy is with Rose.  They get along splendidly.  He doesn’t hesitate to wait with her while I run to get the car, or to help her to and from the pew at mass.  He guards her in a way that makes me prouder than proud. 

Maybe he’s so sweet to her because when he was small she used to give him rides on her walker

(for free)

Or maybe it’s because he knows a good person when he sees one.

Either way I’m glad they have that good thing goin, it’s pretty priceless.

Gramma gave birth to seven kids.  She has a total of 12 grandkids.  and loads of great-grandkids.  She is the matriarch of a large family. 

She turns 84 today.

I’m so thankful to have had her for so many years.  People aren’t guaranteed to have a bunch of years on this Earth, but I’m sure glad she has had so many. 
I’m so grateful to be able to pick her up and take her to as many dollar stores as she’d like.  I’m glad we can have lunch together and I can hear her crazy stories about growing up poor, raising bratty kids 😉 and missing her husband.

I’m thankful I moved closer to her last summer and she is now a bigger part of Fuzzy’s life.

mid story

 
I selfishly yearn for 84 more years with the ol’ bitty…but only hope to enjoy her for as long as she can enjoy life. 

And she’s lovin’ life these days!

What’s not to love about turning 84, moving into a spiffy new apartment, having a shiny red walker with brakes, and plenty of birthday hugs?

 
 
I know I find myself taking time to appreciate what I have today. 
I need to remind myself of this the next time I’m dragging my feet in the dollar store or I’m trying to hurry her through lunch
These days I’m so busy and I rush so much..it’s nice to get on grandma speed from time to time.
Because nothing beats it when she reaches over and squeezes my hand in church…or when she makes fun of youngsters in Steak n’ Shake.
 
OR…when we find a half empty bottle of Captain Morgan in her cabinet on moving day 😉
suuurrreee it’s not yours !

Happy Birthday, Gramma.  I love you

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

