how does my garden grow ??

Something about spring causes me to plant

and plant

and plant

This year there was something different in the air, tho…this year I had plans, I used graph paper.  This year I designed and built my own raised veggie garden.  And I did it ALL BY MYSELF.

Well, myself, google, various tutorials, the helpful guy at Lowe’s, a great tutorial over on the Pioneer Woman’s blog and my friend, Sara, who helped load the potting soil bags into my car 🙂

Yippee…  Isn’t that the coolest dang garden you ever did see?
I’m proud.

Disregard the sad excuse for a fence behind it.  It belongs to the neighbor’s.  
The garden is 6 feet long by 4 feet wide and 1 foot deep.  It’s full of Miracle Gro moisture control potting mix, cheap potting soil, and peat moss. 

It was entirely measured, cut, drilled, screwed, leveled, squared, filled, and planted by me.  I did that !

I even configured the trellis for the green beans along the back.   That wasn’t difficult.  I walked down to my uncles and took mental pictures of what he had going on. 😉

 
It contains peppers, green beans, peanuts (!!), artichoke, cucumbers, zucchini, squash, lettuce and onions.  Is that way too many plants for that spot?  heck yeah, but that’s how I do things.

Will they all live?
They will for awhile, but probably not forever.  We’re traveling a bunch this summer and it’s bound to be neglected.   But I’m gonna give it my all and hope for the best

But for now it’s fun, it’s fresh, it’s wonderfully watered and green.

It’s gonna be a fun summer…

How does your garden grow?  What veggies do you have the most success with?   This my first year gardening as an adult in the midwest.  Looking forward to growing in an area that’s not 1,000 degrees farenheit before 9 AM in July!

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

