new favorite show

I somehow got sucked into a show on ABC Family. That isnt a channel my clicker tends to stop on often.

However, I’m lovin’ “Switched at Birth”

On the CHEESY scale it lands somewhere smack dab in the middle of ‘sorta’ & ‘lots’

It has it’s cheese, but the core of the show is very interesting. It’s the first modern TV series I have ever seen that accurately portrays Deaf culture.

For example, unlike most movies or TV shows that I have watched “Switched at Birth” doesn’t have two deaf people using their voice when they are talking to each other.

Three of the main characters are truly deaf and fluent in ASL, impressive, ABC.

The story line is about two girls who were switched at the hospital at birth (hence the name) and were raised in very different homes. Some of the relevant subjects that have already come up in the first seven episodes include: whether or not deaf people are able to drive, dating between hearing and deaf folks, and even an intense cochlear implant debate.

I knew it was going to be good when I saw that Marlee Matlin was involved. I’m currently reading her book, “I’ll Scream Later”. Good book, amazing woman, great actress, wonderful role model.

So…I suggest you check it out. Dont fret about missing the first few episodes, you’ll be able to get the gist.

What are you watching on Mondays?

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to new favorite show

  1. Nikki says:

    I watch it too and my Husband hates it! I also watch the ultra cheesey “secret life of the american teenager”. I will never live it down but it is like a trainwreck and I can’t stop watching!!

    I have to catch up on switched though because I missed the crucial part about Bay’s real mother and the private investigator bit.

    You’re not alone šŸ˜‰

  2. macimae says:

    I read Marlee Matlin’s book around the time it came out when I was commuting from the ‘burbs to the city by train daily. What a great book! Parts of it gave me goosebumps!
    I need to watch this “Switched at Birth”. It sounds like my cup of tea for sure!!

Leave a Reply

