Do I Dare ??

We’ve been in our house a year now.  The house technically has three bedrooms, but only technically.

The master bedroom is a decent size, on the main floor.  Across the hall is a teeny room I’ve refered to as the office/craft room.  It’s 8ft x 7ft.  teeny.  It has a big ol’ closet, however, that almost doubles the square footage.  It doesn’t work as an office/craft room.  Mostly because it’s more craft room than office.  I store my craft crap in there.   However, most of the time you can barely manuever around. Half finished masterpieces are piled up, the printer is buried below yarn and ribbon.  It’s impossible actually craft in there and I have yet to figure out a storage system that has brought me any success.

It’s frustrating, to say the least.

Wanna know what else is frustrating?

A kid who doesn’t like his bedroom.

Fuzz’s room is bright and cheery, with two windows (one full sized).  It happens to be in the (partially finished) basement. It’s the biggest room in our house.  It’s 11ft x 17ft.

The first ten months of living here went smashingly.  Fuzzy slept in his room every night, no problems.  Somehow this summer got him spooked.  He’s snuck back up and slept on the couch more nights than he stayed in his bed.  I hate that.  A kid who is lucky enough to have a good mattress should spend his night there.

So…one day last week while I was shoving stuff into the office/craft/crap room a light bulb went off.

SWITCH ‘EM.

seriously.  I could make the room Fuzzy currently occupies into a craft room/office/playroom.  A room that he and I could hang in together and be productive.  There is plenty of space down there to figure out a storage method that’ll keep my crap off the floor.

All the kid needs to sleep is a bed, a dresser, some books and a nightstand.

It could work.

This is a rough sketch of the situation.  Don’t confuse my drawings for actual, architectural blue prints.  It’d be easy to do, but try not to do that.

So do I dare?
Is it simply too small for a young boy?

Help me out here before I lose my sanity fretting about it!!

What’s the most unconventional thing you’ve done in your house?

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do I Dare ??

  1. tonya says:

    Megan- all a kid needs is a bed to sleep in. Think about the size of Dorian and Brannan’s room- its tiny. They do everything else outside of their room. I thought you should put Fuzzy there when you moved. I say go for it! In 10 months, if he doesn’t like, move it back- whatever spooked him will be in the past. That way at least hes sleeping in a bed on a good mattress, closer to mama. Just think of all the crap you could strew around down there. Nope- no time for that, you will be doing all that studying.

Leave a Reply

