I be gettin’ smart-ed

photo from here

My classes started today.

ugh…I thought I was ready, I wasn’t.

In 2009 I bit the bullet and headed back to the books to try and get a degree.  The school I was attending in Alabama was a small community college.  Itty bitty, really.  It was the only school in the state that had a program for American Sign Language.

The pickens were slim.

I liked it.  It didn’t offer a lot, but it was a small pond and I was emerging as a big fish.  The classes were not demanding and the instructors had  low expectations.

I breezed through.

What I wouldn’t give to be back there!

The college I’m attending now is a far cry from that little community college in Alabama.  It’s a “real” school.  It has dorms and dining rooms.  My classes are full of 18 year old young’ns.  I stick out.  I’m intimidated.  I’m getting the education I’m paying for.
Maybe it’s just the first day blues. … maybe it’s the fact that I’ve already got a stack of things to read tonight…a paper due…homework…notes to copy…syllabuses to print….ack…

Maybe I just got really lazy during my year off.  I learned to like a low key schedule.  I didn’t work, I didn’t go to school, I enjoyed it.

I know I’ll get into the swing of things before I know it.

I also know this semester is going to zoom by and I’ll be finishing up finals before I know it.

But for today….I wanna curl up on the couch, watch silly reality TV and question why I’m back in school.

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

