Ooooh Pinterest….you dastardly devil. … you got me again.

I’m in a studio art class this semester.  It’s great fun.  I’m making a two foot replica of an old-ish gumball machine that I had hanging out on a shelf in my bathroom. … And I’m making this out of cardboard.  It’s much easier than I thought.  (I say that now and I have just started)
Anywho…
I decided that I was gonna eventually have to put some sort of gumball-esque item in this thing.  My first thought was actual gumballs…but it felt like a cop-out.
My second thought was to crochet a bunch of tiny bright colored balls….then my fingers started to hurt thinking about it and I…well…copped-out.

AND THEN…Pinterest got me.

HOMEMADE BOUNCY BALLS….ohh….really?

Really…the recipe was simple enough.   Here it is…. bouncy ball recipe.  The only thing I had to hunt down was Borax.  It’s available at the first two stores I went to, but it wasn’t currently stocked.

EXPECTATIONS…

Mine were grand.  I figured I’d recruit the help of my bestie, Sara, and we would whip fifty or so of these out in no time.

BWAHAHAHAH….nope.

I’m not sure what my expectations of a bouncy ball was…but I will tell you that these were not round, they did not bounce and as of this morning they were still squishy.

REALITY.

 

As one friend kindly said, “Looks like Shrek poo”

and she was right.

I’m NOT, in any way blaming the recipe, or the website I got it from, or even Pinterest for leading me down this messy, Borax filled road.  I’m totally assuming my problems were user error.  TOTALLY…

And I will keep trying.

As soon as I get the food coloring off of my counter and buy 3 dozen more plastic cups…and a new measuring spoon.

-Fuzzy’s Mom

 

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

