Half Birffday

Do you celebrate half birthdays in your house?

We did last night.
Poor Fuzz….he had the misfortune of being born in July. As a December person I did not understand the heartbreak of a summer birthday.

Homeskillet has never brought a b-day treat to class.

So this year he presented the half-birthday idea.
and I bought it.

While he was gone this weekend I bought a $1.75 birthday banner and cut it in half…get it…half…

 

I baked half a birthday cake.  I am in no way a cake decorator…but it was yum, nonetheless.  It was Fuzzy’s idea to put the 10 candles halfway up….I liked it 🙂 He didn’t get to light or blow them out, but we did enjoy a Funfetti treat after dinner.

I went and grabbed a semi-decorated premade cookie cake at the local grocery store and had them slap “Happy Half Birthday” on it.
He took that stuff to school today like he was the king.

and I think that was the point 🙂

 

So are half birthdays a part of your world?  I enjoyed a low key way of making him feel special…I do not, however, seeing it get any crazier than it was.  Not a big event, just a little bit of something.

 

About fuzzysmom

Mom to one 8 year old fondly refered to as Fuzzy. He's smart, funny, smelly, intelligent and the wind beneath my wings. Besides raising an amazing son I'm also quite crafty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Half Birffday

  1. Cindy says:

    You are sooo clever. I’ve thought of having a half birthday party for my grandson who has a birthday this month. But I was thinking about how cool it would be for him to have a summer birthday and have a swim party or at least a barbeque. We just might have to do that this summer. Never thought about summer birthdays not getting to celebrate at school.
    Did I tell you that I sat here and read all of your blog the other night? It was very interesting and I looking forward to reading more. I told your grandma about it and she wants a printed copy of it since she doesn’t have a computer…I told her I’d tell you. 🙂

    • Cindy says:

      BTW tell Fuzz Happy Half Birthday from me!

    • fuzzysmom says:

      Thanks Cindy!!
      I never thought of printing it off for Gramma to read. I had never really told her about the blog, but she randomly asked me what one was a church one day.
      Hope you are enjoying the new car!

      • Cindy says:

        I told her about the Steak N Shake conversation you wrote about. Too bad she can’t get a computer and learn how to use it again, or even a reader might be good for her. I’ll bet she would like it if she could figure it out.
        I am loving my new car, it has a lot more power than the old one I about gave myself a whiplash taking off in it the other day. Takes a little getting used to. It has bluetooth so I’ve been calling people while I’m driving just cuz it’s cool to hear their voice come thru the speakers…it sure don’t take much to amuse me, lol.

Leave a Reply

